Robbins elected chairman of MMWEC Board of Directors

Date: 6/4/2012

June 4, 2012

LUDLOW — Paul Robbins, a gubernatorial appointee to the Massachusetts Municipal Wholesale Electric Company (MMWEC) Board of Directors, was elected chairman at a meeting of the board last month. Other officers and directors also were elected at the annual membership meeting of MMWEC, the Joint Action Agency for Massachusetts municipal utilities.

"It is an honor to be elected to this position by the MMWEC organization," Robbins said, who has served as a director of MMWEC, appointed by the governor of Massachusetts, since 2001. Robbins, a Wilbraham resident, is the principal of Paul Robbins Associates, which provides marketing, communications and public affairs services.

"The Massachusetts public power sector, with MMWEC leading the way, brings great value to consumers and the Commonwealth's electric industry," Robbins said. "I expect that MMWEC will continue providing the various power supply and financial tools needed by municipal utilities to stay competitive in a changing industry," he said.

Representatives of MMWEC's 21 member municipal utilities elected Marblehead Municipal Light Department Commission Chairman Phillip Sweeney to a two-year term on the board and re-elected Groton Electric Light Department manager Kevin Kelly to a three-year board term.

Peter Dion, general manager of the Wakefield Municipal Gas & Light Department, was re-elected by the membership to his fourth one-year term as president of MMWEC.

Additional MMWEC officers for the coming year, as elected by the board, are Ronald DeCurzio, chief executive officer and secretary; Jeffrey Lafrati, treasurer; Stephen Smith, assistant treasurer; Nancy Brown, assistant secretary; and Nicholas Scobbo Jr., general counsel.

Other MMWEC directors, elected previously by the membership, are Gary Babin, director of the Mansfield Municipal Electric Department; Jeffrey Cady, manager of the Chicopee Municipal Lighting Plant; and Sean Hamilton, general manager of the Sterling Municipal Light Department; Jonathan Fitch, West Boylston Municipal Light Plant manager; and James Lavelle, Holyoke Gas & Electric Department manager.

In addition to Robbins, Michael Flynn of Wilbraham serves on the board as a gubernatorial appointee.

Flynn also represents the Town of Wilbraham on the board, with Luis Vitorino and John Flynn representing the towns of Ludlow and Hampden, respectively.

MMWEC is a non-profit, public corporation and political subdivision of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts that provides a variety of power supply, financial, risk management and other services to the state's consumer-owned, municipal utilities.

Bookmark and Share