Richard Salter Storrs was the second pastor of the First Church in Longmeadow. His house was built in 1786 on ministerial property and stood on land in front of the present library. When the present library was built in 1930, the Storrs House was moved to its current location. A bedroom and kitchen on the east side of the house were removed, leaving a bedroom doorway upstairs to nowhere.
Many of the items in the home are original to the Storrs family. A number of the items belonged to the family of Reverend Stephen Williams, first pastor of First Church, who kept a diary throughout the pre-Revolutionary War period. Williams was the famous "boy captive of Deerfield".
The Historical Society's archives contain many original maps, diaries, account books, old photographs, documents and family histories of Longmeadow's earliest families. Genealogical research is available by appointment. The Historical Society hosts a summer internship program for Longmeadow High School Juniors who assist with ongoing archival projects.
There are a number of items of interest to children, including the rare "whisper stick" and a number of old school items and antique toys. Also in the collection are Rev. Storrs' beautiful cherry desk, Rev. Williams' snow shoes and Mrs. Williams' unique painted chest of drawers, as well as period clothing, samplers, tintypes, early newspapers and much more. See the rare "Poets Album", which was gathered as a fund-raiser during the Civil War and contains original compositions by Longfellow, Holmes, Whittier, Lowell, Bryant, Emerson, Greeley and many others written in their own hand.
Please come and visit this local treasure. For more information, call 413-567-3600 or log onto: www.longmeadowbiz.com.