Use this search box to find articles that have run in our newspapers over the last several years.

November election ballot takes shape

Date: 8/7/2015

WEST SPRINGFIELD – The date of the Town Preliminary Election has been changed from Sept. 15 to Sept. 8. According to a letter released by the Town Clerk’s office, the election has been rescheduled to accommodate those observing Rosh Hashanah from Sept. 13 to 15.

The preliminary election will allow voters to cut the candidates for the mayoral campaign from three to two.

The three candidates who have qualified for the preliminary election are state Rep. Michael Finn, former mayor Gregory Neffinger and town attorney Will Reichelt. Former town assessor Hans Doup did not qualify to appear on the ballot, and Administrator of Information Technology Paul Marshall asked to be withdrawn from the preliminary election on Aug. 3.

Only two candidates for mayor can appear on the final November ballot. If all three candidates remain in the race, the preliminary election will be necessary.

In addition to the race for mayor, the Nov. 3 includes races for School Committee and Town Council, as well.

The School Committee election is made up entirely of its current members. Nancy Farrell, Kathleen Alveras, Pat Garbacik, Dr. Jose Irizarry, Michelle Serafino and Joey Sutton are all seeking releciton.

The Town Council election welcomes a number of newcomers, as well as most of its current members. Incumbent District 3 Councilor George Condon and Daniel O’Brien, who is seeking the District 4 seat, are running unopposed.

The District 1 race comes down to Michael Eger and Jill Fortier-Withee, and Lida Powell, the incumbent of District 2, is up against Nathan Bech for the seat. Town Council President John Sweeney, who represents District 4, and District 1 Councilor Angus Rushlow are not seeking reelection.

The seven candidates face off for five at-large positions on the Council are Alan Cabot, Robert Mancini and incumbents Brian Clune, Bridget Fiala, Bruce Gendron, Brian Griffin and George Kelly.

Nomination papers were due on July 28. The deadline to register to vote in the Preliminary Election is Aug. 19, and the polls will be open from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. Absentee ballot applications must be submitted by noon on Sept. 4. For more information, call the Town Clerk’s office at 263-3012.