Use this search box to find articles that have run in our newspapers over the last several years.

Barry returns to Selectman's post

By Debbie Gardner, PRIME Editor

WILBRAHAM Maybe it was the rain. Maybe it was the lack of uncontested races. Whatever the reason, the 2006 town elections drew a lackluster 23 percent of registered voters to the polls on May 19.

Town Clerk Beverly Litchfield confirmed for Reminder Publications that 2,253 of the town's 9,640 registered voters came to the polls to cast their votes. They returned incumbent Selectman David W. Barry to his post for another three years.

Barry defeated Robert J. Boilard in the only contested race by a count of 1,211 to 1,032.

Voters also returned a slate of officials to their posts in six uncontested races.

Richard J. Howell was reelected to the position of Assessor for another three-year term, Marianne Colby Desmond was returned to her seat on the Hampden-Wilbraham Regional School Committee for another three-year term, Philip J. Hamer was re-elected to the Cemetery Commission for three more years, Alan R. Burch retained his seat on the Water Commission for three more years and both James S. Jurgens and William Massida will serve as Library Trustees for three more years.

In addition, Patricia A Ross was re-elected to the Planning Board for another five-year term and Wilfred Renaud won a one-year term on the Cemetery Commission through a write-in vote.

The vote to authorize borrowing to extend the sewers on Main Street from Memorial School to Minnechaug Regional High School , the only other contested issue this year, was approved by Wilbraham voters at the Annual Town Meeting on May 14.