Use this search box to find articles that have run in our newspapers over the last several years.

Senior Center extends date for nominations

By Erin O'Connor

Staff Writer

AGAWAM The Agawam Council on Aging and Senior Center are sponsoring three awards. These include the Andrew Gallano, the Jim Griffin and the Friendship Awards.

Joan Linnehan, director for the Senior Center, said to Reminder Publication, Sept. 28 that the deadline for nomination papers has been extended. All forms must be into the Center by Oct 13.

Applications for nominating individuals for any one of these three categories can be obtained at the Senior Center, 68 Meadow brook Manor.

The Andrew Gallano Award is given based on an individual's work or service to the elders of Agawam. Past winners of this award include George Bitzas of the City Council in 2004 and Peter Forastiere in 2002.

The Jim Griffin Award is given to the Friends of Agawam Senior Center board member who is chosen by their peers for outstanding dedication to the Friends organization.

The recipient is a long standing member of the Friends who goes above and beyond the call and makes many contributions to the Friends and the Agawam Senior Center. In 2004, Jack Conroy received the Jim Griffin Award.

"Jim Griffin was one of our board members and he went above and beyond. He was involved in the Council on Aging and the Friends Group," Linnehan said. "He passed away two to three years ago and this award is to remember him for all of the good things that he did."

The Friendship Award is given to a resident of Agawam who is at least 60 years of age and has done volunteer work to help others who cannot do for themselves.

Included recipients of this Award are Emile Cote in 2004 and Edythe Chiba in 2002.

All award recipients will be selected before the end of October and honored at the Awards Night for the Senior Center on Nov. 3.

"We like to make sure that many people are recognized," Linnehan said in explaining that three different people are planned on being selected for the three awards.