Use this search box to find articles that have run in our newspapers over the last several years.

Elms College announces Hall of Fame class of 2015

Date: 7/9/2015

CHICOPEE – The Elms College Athletics department has announced the Elms College Hall of Fame class of 2015.

This year’s inductees include Krystyna Gagne, Louise McCleary, and the 2003 Elms College Softball team. The induction ceremony will take place on the Elms College campus Oct. 23.

Gagne was a member of the women's soccer team for four seasons from 2006 to 2009. Gagne wrapped up her career as the women's soccer program's all-time leader in points (105), goals (44), and assists (17). Gagne holds the single game records for points (10), goals (5), and assists (3). She owns the single season record for game-winning goals with six during her senior season.

Gagne was selected to the 2007 All-North Atlantic Conference First Team, followed by All-New England Collegiate Conference (NECC) First Team selections in 2008 and 2009. Gagne was named the 2008 NECC Player of the Year after leading the Blazers to a perfect 8-0 mark in NECC play. Gagne becomes the seventh women's soccer player elected to the Hall of Fame, joining Nancy Gleason (2006), Linda Kenny (2006), Andrea Hickson (2009), Lauren Stauch (2011), Jennifer LeDoux (2012), and Caitlin Childs (2013).

Former Athletics Director (AD) McCleary becomes the second Athletics Director to be elected to the Elms College Hall of Fame. As athletics director, McCleary guided the Blazers transition from the NAC to the NECC, serving as AD chair for the conference. McCleary was instrumental in the creation of the baseball program, as well as fostering a 40 percent growth in student-athletes and the creation of critical full-time positions within the athletics department. McCleary spearheaded the development of the athletics department, including managing the construction of Leary Field and Cheryl R. Condon Field.

The 2003 Elms College softball team became the first Elms College athletics team to make the NCAA Division III National Championship tournament. The Blazers notched the most successful season in program history, racking up a 28-7 overall record with a 9-3 record in the NAC. Five members from the 2003 softball team have been inducted into the Hall of Fame in Kristi Guzzo (2011), Lauren Stauch (2011), head coach Cheryl Condon (2012), Kristin Tassey (2012), and Tina Fontaine (2014). During the 2003 season, Condon claimed the second of five straight NAC Coach of the Year honors, while Guzzo and Tassey were All-NAC selections; and Fontaine was named to the NCAA East Regional All-Tournament Team.