Use this search box to find articles that have run in our newspapers over the last several years.

Westfield State boasts most MASCAC All-Academic athletes

Date: 7/24/2015

WESTFIELD – A total of 756 student-athletes have been honored by the Massachusetts State Collegiate Athletic Conference with selection to the league’s Spring 2015 All-Academic Team that was recently released by Commissioner Angela Baumann.

Student-athletes that compete in championship varsity sports offered by each of the MASCAC institutions during the course of the spring 2015 athletic season and have achieved a 3.20 cumulative or semester-based grade point average during the semester are eligible for selection to the Spring All-Academic Team. The sports recognized are baseball women's lacrosse, softball and men's and women's outdoor track and field. The team also includes student-athletes that competed in winter sports during the spring semester.

Westfield State University closed out the spring semester with the most student-athletes on the 2015 MASCAC Spring All-Academic Team with 194 total while Bridgewater State University was next with 149, Worcester State placed 100 and Fitchburg State finished with 99 student-athletes on the team.

“Once again, the numbers continue to rise among the honorees on the MASCAC All-Academic Team which shows the amount of hard work the student-athletes put in while in the classroom,” Baumann said. “The student-athletes in the MASCAC are showing that they not only work hard on game day but when it comes to academics as well.”

The Massachusetts State Collegiate Athletic Conference, the nation's oldest Division III men's and women's playing conference, has a rich and storied tradition of competitive success while celebrating excellence in the classroom. MASCAC member schools include Bridgewater State University, Fitchburg State University, Framingham State University, MCLA, Massachusetts Maritime Academy, Salem State University, Westfield State University and Worcester State University. Two other institutions, the University of Massachusetts Dartmouth and Plymouth State University, are affiliate members of the conference in the sports of football and men's ice hockey, while Western Connecticut State University joined the conference as an affiliate member in football beginning in 2014.