Sears elected RAPV president

Date: 1/16/2013

SPRINGFIELD – On Jan. 8, the Realtor Association of Pioneer Valley (RAPV) installed its 2013 slate of elected officers and directors during ceremonies conducted as part of the association's 98th annual Installation Banquet at The Springfield Country Club in West Springfield. Chris Polychron, 2013 first vice president of the National Association of Realtors (NAR) administered the oath of office to the officers and directors.

Brian P. Sears, LMC, a partner with Sears Real Estate in Springfield, was installed as 2013 president of the 1,700-member organization. As president, Sears will oversee the organization's activities and operations between meetings of the board of directors, and act as a liaison to the association's various committees. He is the official spokesperson of the association on issues related to the real estate industry and the local housing market.

In 2012 he represented the association as a director on the Massachusetts Association of Realtors® Board of Directors and was on its Finance Committee. Sears has been a realtor since 2002. In his 11 years of experience he has served RAPV in several leadership capacities; as a member of the board of directors, treasurer and president-elect. In 2012 he earned the title as the Association's Realtor of the Year.

Sears is heavily involved in committee work having served on or chaired such committees as finance, young professional network (YPN), grievance, and strategic planning. He helped create the annual Tech Camp UnConference, and the YPN. He was a member of the 2011-2012 Tornado Relief Committee and the "Re-Tree the Community" project, which oversaw the distribution of more than $58,000 in donations to area tornado victims. Sears lives in Springfield.

Other officers installed include: Patrick Nolan of Agawam as president-elect, Dawn Henry of Palmer as treasurer, Louis P. Mayo of Belchertown as secretary, and Corinne A. Fitzgerald of Northfield as immediate past-president. Directors installed include: Elias Acuna of Springfield, Edward Alford of South Hadley, Carolanne Bright of Northampton, Suzi Buzzee of Northampton, Susan Drumm of Agawam, Janise Fitzpatrick of Belchertown, Susan M. Rheaume of Wilbraham, and Richard Sawicki Jr. of Erving.

Organized in 1915, the Realtor Association of Pioneer Valley is a professional trade organization serving Franklin, Hampden and Hampshire counties.