Use this search box to find articles that have run in our newspapers over the last several years.

Local health happenings and announcements


Eight physicians who have passed down their knowledge to other physicians and dedicated their careers to helping others were recently honored by the Hampden District Medical Society of West Springfield at their recent annual meting held at the Springfield Country Club in West Springfield and at the Massachusetts Medical Society's annual meeting held in Boston. Honored were Dr. James Amberson, a retired Springfield psychiatrist, Dr. William M. Davis, a retired hematology/oncology physician at Baystate Medical Center, Dr. Norman Epstein, a retired Springfield OB/Gyn, Dr. John Flahive a retired Springfield internist and past-president of the Society, Dr. Edward Rewinski, a retired anesthesiologist with Springfield Anesthesia Services, Dr. Ray Smith, a retired anesthesiologist who served as secretary of the Society, Dr. Harry Tapp a retired Springfield surgeon and Dr. John Yelle, Holyoke surgeon. To commemorate this most honorable award of achievement each 50-Year Member was presented with an engraved mantle clock.


Hampden District Medical Society and the Dr. Max & Ida Millman Foundation Scholarship Award was given to Jennifer Ann Pelli a junior at Jefferson Medical School.


Dr. John P. Sullivan, a 45-year member of the Society and a retired Baystate medical Center pathologist, living in Suffield, CT was the recipient of the Society's Dr. Oliver Wendell Holmes Stethoscope Award.


The Society has added Dr. Thomas Race, a retired gastroenterologist to the distinguish roster of th Senior Volunteer Physician. Dr. Race was nominated by Geraldine Kennedy, a nurse at Mercy Medical Center. Dr. Race provides medical care to under and uninsured clients of the Pioneer Valley Free Health Services.


Dr. Mark. J. Mullan, an internist practicing at Cardiology and Internal Medicine in Springfield was selected by his peers to receive the Community Clinician of the Year Award.