|Experience the fun of a trolley ride this summer|
The Shelburne Falls Trolley Museum started its 17th seventh season of trolley rides May 6. Take a 15 minute ride back in time on the beautifully restored trolley No. 10. Restored in 1999, this car was built in 1896 and carried freight and passengers between Shelburne Falls and Colrain until 1926. This wooden, electrically-powered car crossed the Deerfield River on a concrete bridge that is now known as the Bridge of Flowers. The museum's newly remodeled Visitors Center has pictures of the bridge and other local scenes in its trolley days, a display of the restoration process that brought this rare car back to life, a Kids Corner with wooden and electric toy trains and the Trolley Shop store with books, magazines and gift items. The museum also features a caboose and steam engine that can be explored, and an old-fashioned pump car that is often available for rides.
The museum is operated by volunteers and will be open every weekend and holidays from 11 a.m.-5 p.m., until November 6. Additionally, in July and August, the museum will be open from 1-5 p.m. on Mondays. The museum may be open by chance at other times and special arrangements can be made for field trips or parties. Tickets are $2.50 for adults, $1.25 for children six to 12 and free for kids five and under. Shelburne Falls Trolley Museum, 14 Depot St., near Salmon Falls Artisans Showroom; 625-9443; www.sftm.org